Skip to main content
Search results

Tweed Regional Museum

Logo for Tweed Regional Museum

The Tweed Regional Museum is a Tweed Shire Council community facility, established in 2004. The Museum is dedicated to preserving and sharing the unique history and heritage of the Tweed Shire. Two branches of the Museum, at Murwillumbah and Tweed Heads, offer comprehensive displays. The Murwillumbah branch is located in the original Tweed Shire Council Chambers of 1915, with a contemporary extension that opened in August 2014. Permanent displays provide a glimpse into past settlement and development; changing displays showcase the Tweed Regional Museum collection and contemporary stories about places, events and people significant to the Tweed community. The Tweed Heads branch is located in a beautiful park setting on the banks of Terranora Creek, and showcases three significant heritage buildings. The original Tweed Heads Court House was relocated to the current site in 1985 and has undergone recent renovations. Boyds' Shed, the last of numerous fishing sheds once dotted around Boyds Bay, has also undergone recent redevelopment to highlight the rich history of the fishing industry and the Boyd fishermen. The Deck House, which dates from the 1880s, is from the drogher Murwillumbah. The Tweed Regional Museum Strategic Plan 2019/20 – 2020/21 identifies Council’s commitment to the Museum and provides a framework for the Museum’s program and activities. The Museum's Collection Policy aims to enhance strategically the depth and importance of the Collection by approaching collecting in a manner that reflects the Tweed Region as a whole, single entity. The Collection Policy of Tweed Regional Museum has a primary focus on collecting for exhibitions, educational purposes, research and archiving. Both documents are located on the Museum webpage at https://museum.tweed.nsw.gov.au/TheMuseum

2 volunteer opportunities found

See all opportunities for Tweed Regional Museum